Foundations and Applications

…I keep preaching sermon after sermon with tiny bits of application. Here’s the reason: I’m wired to think through foundations and I’m less wired to tell you what to do with that. In fact, I’m a little skittish about telling you exactly how theological truth works out in your life, but I feel really confident about what I see in the Bible.

John Piper, in a March 2012 interview with Christianity Today. Find the rest here.

Reading this quote makes me thankful to God for men with different gifts and abilities, and different styles of ministry. The Triune God uses all kinds of men and all kinds of sermons, and His Church is better because of it.

This entry was posted in Commonplaces and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

